You’ll Be In My Heart

Have you heard of “You’ll Be In My Heart” by Phil Collins? The first time I heard the song was in Disney’s Tarzan. Watching the movie now would be a different experience than watching it years ago. I would be more affected by Tarzan’s struggle with identity than with his conflict with the antagonist and his romance with Jane.

I can imagine the scene perfectly when Tarzan looks at his reflection and sees someone who doesn’t look anything like his family. He even tries rubbing mud on his face so he doesn’t stand out as much. Collins’ song soothes the hurt that comes from isolation and confusion.

“You’ll be in my heart

No matter what they say

You’ll be in my heart, always.

 

Why can’t they understand the way we feel?

They just don’t trust what they can’t explain

I know we’re different but deep inside us

We’re not that different at all.”

We’re different but not that different at all. Those lyrics, even when I was too small and possibly too young to understand, spoke to me. My mom looks different than me. I look different than her. But we are family, and we love each other, and our appearances do not matter. It is okay to be this way.

After my mom and I watched the movie together, it became our signature song. Every time I hear it, I think of my mom and my family. The lyrics are comforting, and yet, when I am away from home, sometimes they give me melancholy. At the same time, the song reminds me that they are always with me. I just have to look over my shoulder. 

2 thoughts on “You’ll Be In My Heart

  1. Hello. I am an adoptive Mom. My family watched Tarzan all the time when our son was very little, say three ish I think. It has so much meaning for us. It is hard for me to listen to the song you quoted above without tearing up because it speaks so perfectly to how I feel about my son and adoption. Your blog is lovely. Thank-you for your thoughts.

    • Thank you very much for commenting! “You’ll be in My Heart” is a wonderful song. I always think about my mom when I listen to it! Perhaps your son connects the song with you as well.I wish you and your loved ones the best on your adoption journey together!

Leave a Reply

