Adoption Documentaries

Lately, I have been watching documentaries on Chinese adoption for a summer research project. So for the next few weeks, I will be posting a few reviews on the documentaries I’ve watched. I want to compare and contrast the stories and look at the main issues that arise for adoptees. Even though all adoptees can relate on a certain level, I feel especially connected to the adoptees in the documentaries because I am also adopted from China. Sometimes it feels like I am watching part of my own life because some of the stories are very similar to mine. At the same time, it’s amazing how each story has its unique details and each adoptee has their own perspectives.

I recommend adoptees, parents who adopt, and anyone interested in adoption to watch a few documentaries that give insight on multiple experiences. Although I am focusing on Chinese adoption now, I would like to watch some documentaries from different ethnic groups and on adoption in general. So far, I have become more aware of how other adoptees and their adoptive parents view adoption. In addition, I was able to understand more about how birthparents feel when they give up their children. Even though I’ve seen a small handful of perspectives, I am more knowledgeable about adoption, and I have learned more about myself. Of course, I still have a lot to learn, and there is a limit on how much adoption can be generalized since it’s so diverse.

Leave a Reply

