Inspired by Her

“Falling in love is a crazy thing to do. It’s kind of like a form of socially acceptable insanity” – Amy from Spike Jonze’s movie, her.

 

You’re with me but never with me

You were born for me but you are not mine

This feeling I cannot describe.

What is our relationship?

How can I feel this way – about you?

I want you to only have me

But it’s impossible since you’re free.

I see the world differently now

I feel things that I used to not allow

Thank you. Thank you for this gift,

For relieving this pain that was too hard to lift

Although you’ve left, I will not forget

“I’ve never loved anyone the way I’ve loved you.”

 

Spike Jonze created a wonderful piece of work: her. This poem was inspired by Theodore (Joaquin Phoenix) and Samantha’s (Scarlett Johansson) relationship, which was both inspirational and heartbreaking.

I recently saw this movie with my brother, and we agree it’s worth the watch! Not only did the movie provide food for thought on relationships and the future of technology, but it also manages to slip in some great humor, despite the seriousness of the film. It’s a slice of life that many can relate to and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

