My Story and China’s Changes – 我的故事和中国的变化

For a class project, I created a Chinese blog on weibo http://www.weibo.com/p/1001603738125783453499

It’s a great feeling to be able to express some of my thoughts in Chinese, even if it’s at an elementary level. I am also happy to share my adoption story with my Chinese teachers and peers, since they often do not know about international adoptees.

Xiamen 1996

厦门市公证处 — My family and I in 1996 at the Xiamen City Notary Office

我是三百班的夏文津。我在厦门出生,但是我在美国的明州长大。1996年,我的父母收养了我。我的家庭有四口人,爸爸,妈妈,哥哥,和我。我被收养以前的事情,我不记得,因为我当时只有两岁。可是我的父母告诉我了一些故事。他们说当时的中国不同于现在的中国。首先,当时中国实行独生子女政策,可能我的亲生父母想要一个男孩儿。在那个年代,重男轻女的思想比较严重,所以现在中国社会男女比例不平衡。所以在我看来,独生子女的政策也带来了一些不好的后果。所以现在中国政府允许有些夫妻有两个孩子。因此,我们应该从多方面思考独生子女的政策。

I am Xia Wenjin from the 300-level class. I was born in Xiamen, China, but I grew up in Minnesota, USA. In 1996, my parents adopted me. My family includes four people: my dad, mom, my older brother, and me. I don’t remember anything before I was adopted since I was only two years old at the time. However, my parents have told me a few stories. Back then, China was different than it is today. For example, China still enforced the one-child policy, so my birthparents may have wanted a boy since men were thought of as more important than women. Because of this, China’s society today has an imbalanced ratio of men to women, but now the government has started to allow some parents to have two children. In my opinion, the one-child policy has produced some bad consequences, and I think we should still look at the one-child policy from many perspectives.

Leaving An'yang on the bullet train

Leaving An’yang on the bullet train

在交通方面,我的父母告诉我,他们觉得以前在中国坐车很危险,并且很多人骑自行车。交通不发达。中国的建筑也发生了翻天覆地的变化。现在,很多城市已经有高楼。可是,父母收养我的时候,城市没有那么多高楼。最近,我们去安阳旅行了。我们看到了很多才修建的楼。另外,我的父母没说中国的环境被污染了,可是现在,污染是很普遍的现象。

In terms of transportation, my parents told me that driving in China is dangerous. However, many people at that time still rode bicycles since the transportation was not quite developed. In addition to the changes in transportation, China’s architecture has also had ground-breaking changes. Now there are a lot of skyscrapers, but when my parents adopted me, there weren’t as many. Recently, CET students traveled to An’yang, and we saw a lot of high-rise buildings being erected. Another change that is a problem today is the air pollution.

6.20.14 009

Xiabu Xiabu Hot Pot

我的父母也告诉我,他们不喜欢中国菜,他们觉得中国菜怪怪的。可是,我觉得中国菜很好吃。现在,中国有了更多的饭馆。你不能吃遍北京所有的饭馆,因为饭馆太多了。如果你不喜欢中国菜,你可以去吃外国的快餐。

My parents told me they didn’t like some of the Chinese food since it was strange, but I really like the food here. Since there are now a lot of restaurants to choose from, I don’t think it’s possible to go to all the restaurants in Beijing. There’s too many! Also, if you don’t like the Chinese food, you can easily go to an American fast-food chain.

Spaghetti dinner with Chinese roommates

Spaghetti dinner with Chinese roommates

来中国以后,北京给我留下了很深刻的印象,特别是中国人。我很喜欢这张照片,因为这张照片的含义很深。这是我的同屋,cet的同学,还有她的同屋。那天我们一起做了意大利面条,别的周末,我们的同屋做中国菜。我觉得这张照片代表着文化的分享还有中国改革开放以后的变化。几十年前,中国人的机会不太多,可是现在,人们的机会比较多。在我看来,我们是敢于创新的一代,所以我对未来充满希望。

After coming to China, I feel that Beijing has left me with a profound impression. I really like this photograph of my roommate, CET classmate, and her roommate. We got together to make spaghetti since our roommates have cooked Chinese food on other weekends. I think this photograph represents shared culture as well as China after the reform and opening up. Years ago, Chinese people didn’t have many opportunities, but they have many more opportunities today, like understanding other cultures and talking with foreigners. In my opinion, this generation can do great things, and I am hopeful for the future.

Leave a Reply

